Bananas are natures Hallmark cards.

Image

I have a great mom, best in the world. My mom, unlike most people’s had to apply for me, wait on a list, pay money and pray to get me… I was adopted, when I was two weeks old. My parents wanted kids pretty badly, and after the passing of my older sister due to complications from being born premature, there wasn’t any certainty that they’d be able to have kids. Luckily, later on after adopting me they were able to have my brother and sister.

I’ve had a lot of time to ponder that moment, the most pivotal moment in my life, a moment that happened way before I possessed the mind to comprehend it. And it’s something I’ve come to be very grateful for. I was given a gift by two mothers, the one who gave me up, and the one who took me in. Not to forget my dad, who I’m crazy grateful for, but I’ll save talking about him for another blog.

If you’ve got a mom, I’d suggest taking the time to find a unique way of  telling her you love her… I used a banana note, try it sometime.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Bananas are natures Hallmark cards.”

  1. Cinnamon Gallatin says :

    I’m an adoptee, too, and I feel the exact same way! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I hope you shared this article with your mom, too. I guarantee you it will make her heart swell with pride and joy. 🙂

    • The AL says :

      I had intended to share it with my mom, but someone caught wind of this blog post and showed it to her before I could! She was pretty happy to read it, now I gotta take some time and write one for my dad.

  2. Jess says :

    As a new-ish mom through adoption, this made my heart happy. 🙂

  3. Lindsey Wheatley Redfern says :

    Um, you’re awesome! I’d love to feature you on my blog if your’e interested. This was SO SWEET! Email me …therhouse@ G mail dot com | therhouse.com

    • The AL says :

      Somehow I missed seeing this comment until just now, so my humblest apologies for this oversight! I’m still a newcomer to the blogging world, so let me know what you’d like from me and I’ll see if I can’t accommodate you. 🙂

Leave a comment